15 Outstanding Students Are Awarded at 2012 CPAC Award Presentation Ceremony

TORONTO, December 1st, 2012 – The 2012 Annual Award Presentation Ceremony, a crown jewel event in the community hosted by the Education Foundation of Chinese Professionals Association of Canada (EF of CPAC), was held today at the Great Hall, Hart House of the St. George Campus of the University of Toronto to present scholarships and awards to 15 outstanding high school and post-secondary students for their academic achievements and community contributions.

This year the Education Foundation received a record number of applications, with over 300 applicants competing for the 15 scholarships and awards. Ultimately fifteen students were selected, many of whom come from such prestigious universities such as Oxford University, University of Toronto, and Queen’s University, etc. The award recipients this year are not only academic achievers, but also leaders and active volunteers in school and in their communities.

The winner of CPAC-TD Prestigious Scholarship this year is a top-achieving, first year masters student studying at Oxford University, Esther Kwan. She graduated from Cornell University with dual bachelor degrees in Government and Urban & Regional Studies, with an average over 97 in the final two semesters. Aside from outstanding academic achievements, Ester was highly active in the communities.

The winner of one of the CPAC Education Foundation Awards, Li Na Wang, has shown her exceptional abilities at a young age. She was accepted by the Leonard N. Stern School of Business, New York University, with an average of 98 for the latest two semesters. She balances her academics with plenty of community involvements, such as participating in the “Me to We” organization to help poor areas of China to build schools. She has received multiple recognitions from the city and the province of Ontario.

Jinxiu Zhang, one of the CPAC Education Foundation Bursary Winners also has an unique story. Currently studying at the Seneca college, Jinxiu uses her determination and persistence to become the top of her class, beating her younger classmates. Her last two semesters averaged 96. Her positive thinking and willingness to make change inspired many, especially new immigrants.

Among this year’s winners, we not only have students with Chinese ethnic background but also from other ethnic backgrounds, like one of the CPAC Scholarship winners, Bahar Karbalaei and one of the CPAC Award winners, Roa’a Hamed.

The CPAC Education Foundation has received broad support from all three levels of government since it was founded. The Honourable Jason Kenney, Federal Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism sent congratulations letters to every CPAC Award winners; and the distinguished guests attending the Award Ceremony included the Honourable Jim Karygiannis, MP Scarborough-Agincourt; Olivia Chow, MP Trinity-Spadina; Chungsen Leung, MP for Willowdale; Godwin Chan, Councillor Ward 6, Richmond Hill and Chin Lee, Councillor Ward 41, Scarborough-Rough River.

It was the tenth consecutive year that TD Bank Financial Group has been the Presenting Sponsor of the CPAC Award Ceremony. “The Education Foundation of CPAC does tremendous work in assisting and grooming talent within the community. The provision of scholarships and bursaries is an important aspect of this support, as it will help these individuals develop to their full potential. TD Insurance Meloche Monnex is proud to partner with the Education Foundation of CPAC to achieve this goal.” said Jorge Cardelus, Relationship Manager, Affinity Market Group, TD Insurance Meloche Monnex.

Founded in 1999, the Education Foundation of the Chinese Professionals Association of Canada is a registered charitable organization that provides scholarships and awards to secondary and post-secondary students who have demonstrated exceptional community leadership as well as outstanding academic achievements. The Foundation also provides assistance to students who have maintained above-average grades and are experiencing financial difficulty. Since 2000, it has given out 166 education awards with a total value of $210,000.

Attached is the list of the awards winners.  2012 CPAC Hall of Fame

Category Winner
Scholarships Esther Kwan (Prestigious   Scholarship), Bahar Karbalaei, Daniel Hanzhang Li, Louisa Ho, Shouxin Zhuang, Jingkun   Liang
Awards Roa’a Hamed, Xiaoyu Qiu,   Shannon Wong, Michael Xie, Li Na Wang
Bursaries Cen Cui, Hong Sheng Xu, Zhi Xing Su, Jin Xiu Zhang