CPAC Elects Ti Wang as New President

【Toronto, September 28, 2020】At the first board meeting immediately following the 2020 CPAC Annual General Meeting (AGM), Mr. Ti Wang, former Executive Vice President and Treasurer, was elected as President for the 2020-2022 term.

This year’s AGM took place on Zoom on Saturday, September 26, 2020, after a long delay by the COVID-19 pandemic. The AGM is required by law to be held by the end of June in a physical location. A delay of convening this year was permitted by Corporations Canada, which later provided a solution that allowed the AGM to happen virtually.

The 2020 AGM was chaired by Ms. Lynda Xu, Board Member and Chair of the AGM Committee. Outgoing president Eric Xiao made the 2019 work report. Mr. Longhuan Kim, Chair of the Finance Committee, presented the 2019 financial report. The AGM also passed several amendments to the Constitution, appointed next year’s auditor, and recognized Mr. Jing Li and Ms. Jie Tang, husband and wife, for their significant contribution to the Stop COVID-19 fundraising campaign co-organized by CPAC, CPAC Foundation and a number of other community organizations and individuals.

Mr. William Wei Liu, former President of the Tsinghua Alumni Association, was elected as a new Director of the Board, along with five re-elected Directors, who are Longhuan Kim, Howard Shen, Bess Song, Andrew Xu and Stan Yu. The continuing Directors are Helen Cao, Mia Wang, Ti Wang, Eric Xiao, Lynda Xu, Lawrence Yu, Margaret Yang, Hugh Zhao and Peter Zhou.

Mr. Ti Wang came to Canada in 1985 to study mathematics and obtained his Ph.D. degree from the University of Toronto in 1992. He joined the Bank of Montreal in 1994 and later the Royal Bank of Canada, serving progressively in positions of Senior Manager, Vice President and Director of Capital Markets. Ti has been actively involved in the community and was a co-founder and former president of the Canadian Chinese Finance Association. He joined the CPAC Board in 2014 and has served as Vice President, Executive Vice President and Treasurer. He was also the Chair of the Governance Committee.

“Being President is a tremendous responsibility,” said Ti, “I will do my best to consult, listen and work closely with the Board and the Executive Director, uphold CPAC’s high ethical and professional standards and make CPAC an even stronger organization.” His priorities include attracting young blood to the Board, increasing funding and donations, and realigning organizational resources.

The president of CPAC is elected by the board of directors from among the directors. The term of presidency is two years. The president can serve no more than two consecutive terms.

The Board sincerely thanks Mr. Eric Xiao for his leadership, professionalism, and dedication during his two terms as President. Eric remains on the Board and continues to make his contributions.


  1. Ti Wang, newly elected President of CPAC


  1. CPAC Board Members meet after the 2020 AGM