CPAC Calls for Nominations for 2020-2021 Awards

July 27, Toronto – CPAC and CPAC Foundation invite members of the community to nominate candidates for their three annual awards, the CPAC Professional Achievement Award, CPAC Young Achiever’s Award, and the inaugural CPAC Diversity Award.


CPAC Professional Achievement Award (PAA)

The CPAC PAA was established in 2009 to recognize and celebrate the achievements of immigrant professionals who have achieved outstanding success and prominent status in recognized professions. Past recipients include exceptional individuals such as Enhui Yang (scientist), Kelvin Tran (executive) and Chan Hon Goh (artist).

Candidates for the award must be

  • Canadian citizens or permanent residents who are immigrants to Canada; and
  • Have achieved prominent success in their profession or in a professional field outside of their occupation

Nominations are encouraged from all Canadian citizens and permanent residents, across all professions and across Canada.


CPAC Young Achiever’s Award (YAA)

The CPAC YAA honours an outstanding young immigrant in Canada, aged 29 or younger, to celebrate their community contributions or professional or business achievements, locally or abroad. The award recognizes the individual’s work based on its distinction and/or positive social impact.


To be eligible for the award, applicants must be:
– Canadian citizens or permanent residents who immigrated to Canada; and
– Aged 29 years or younger on September 15, 2021


Eligible activities for consideration include:
– Professional or business successes

– Scientific or technological innovation

– Social entrepreneurship

– Community or social leadership and volunteerism


CPAC Diversity Award

The CPAC Diversity Award recognizes an individual, group or organization that has made significant contributions to the advancement of human rights, racial equity, diversity and inclusion. Contributions for consideration include efforts, initiatives, programs or financial support that have

  • Promoted awareness through educating and informing Canadians;
  • Led to positive changes in an organization, a sector or the broader society;
  • Advanced knowledge, understanding and theories;
  • Propelled progress in public policy and legislation; or
  • Enabled programs facilitating the integration and success of immigrants and Asian Canadians.


Nomination and Selection Process

The nomination packages can be downloaded at

The completed Nomination Form, together with other material, are required to be submitted through email to by September 15, 2021, Attention Awards Selection Committee.

All award nominations received will be submitted to an Award Selection Committee composed primarily of members from outside of CPAC.

Winning candidates will be contacted in October 2021.

Due to COVID-19, this year’s awards will be presented virtually at the 2021 CPAC Annual Gala on November 27, 2021.


About CPAC & CPAC Foundation

CPAC (formerly Chinese Professionals Association of Canada) is a not-for-profit organization that has served the internationally educated professionals community for nearly three decades. The organization now has over 30,000 members from various cultural and ethnic backgrounds with a wide range of skills and professional training.

CPAC and CPAC Foundation provide programs that help new immigrants with their credential upgrading, cultural integration, employment, career advancement, and professional and leadership development.

With the adoption of a new strategic direction in 2019, CPAC and CPAC Foundation have increasingly focused on advocacy for human rights, racial equity, diversity, inclusion, anti-racism and other values important to Chinese Canadians, through research, education and training, with the goal of achieving the full potential of a diverse and inclusive Canadian society.