CPAC Foundation Awards $18,000 to 10 Outstanding Canadian Students

March 6, 2017, Toronto, ON – Ten outstanding students were recognized for their academic achievements and community contributions at CPAC Foundation’s Annual Scholarship Award Ceremony on March 5 at the North York Civic Centre.

There were six awards, one sponsored by Queen Financial Group, given to high school students with a combination of strong grades and dedicated volunteerism. Each award is worth $1000. The recipients include Sunny Song Ling Wang from The Woodlands School, who is a Junior Executive on The Prefects; Elaine Ke-Xin Liu at Don Mills Collegiate Institute, who works as a youth leader with St. John Ambulance; Emily Cross from Hammarskjold High School, the Regional Director of Sustainable Youth Canada’s Thunder Bay chapter; Aiken Chau from Mary Ward Catholic Secondary School, Co-President of his school’s DECA Chapter; Kevin Zhang from Victoria Park Collegiate Institute, who worked with the Alzheimer Society of Toronto; and Monica Mokai Xu from Bayview Secondary School, one of 2016 Ontario Top Scholars and Director of Women in Computer Science Waterloo.

The CPAC-TD Insurance Meloche Monnex Scholarship, worth $3000, was given to an accomplished post-secondary student with demonstrated leadership. Sari Ohsada, an Environmental Science and Global Development Studies student at Queen’s University, was given this honour for her work in social justice and climate change education.

The CPAC Special Scholarship, worth $3000, was given to a student that played an active and leading role in a meaningful project to the community. The recipient, Cindy Yiqiao Chen of Leaside High School, was awarded for her work in running Vision Exchange, a program matching blind Chinese individuals with English-speaking mentors.

The recipient of the CPAC-Tianbao Education Scholarship was past award winner, Echo Wu, studying Accounting at Seneca College. Receiving the CPAC-Investors Group Education Scholarship was Selena Shi Ting Lu, studying Engineering at the University of Toronto. Both scholarships are given to students in strong academic standing with financial need, and are worth $3000 each.

The total value of scholarships and awards given out this year is $18,000. Below is the full list of recipients:

Awards高中奖学金 Name School
CPAC Award (Grade 10) SongLing Wang The Woodlands School
CPAC Award (Grade 10) Elaine Ke-Xin Liu Don Mills Collegiate Institute
CPAC Award (Grade 10) Emily Cross Hammarskjold High School
CPAC – Queen Financial Group Award (Grade 11) Aiken Chau(周轩林) Mary Ward Catholic Secondary School
CPAC Award (Grade 12) Kevin Zhang Victoria Park Collegiate Institute
CPAC Award (Grade 12) Mokai Xu(徐谟恺) Bayview Secondary School
Scholarship大学奖学金 Name School
CPAC – TD Insurance Meloche Monnex Scholarship Sari Ohsada Queen’s University
Special Scholarship 特别奖学金 Name School
CPAC Special Scholarship Yiqiao Chen Leaside High School
Education Scholarships 助学金 Name School
CPAC – Tianbao Education Scholarship Echo Wu Seneca College
CPAC – Investors Group Education Scholarship Shi Ting Lu(陆诗婷) University of Toronto

“This year, we received applications from about one hundred brilliant students from across the country. The Selection Committee had a difficult task, but ultimately decided to award these ten individuals based on their combined academic excellence and community involvement,” remarked Richard Lim, President of CPAC Foundation. “CPAC Foundation has given out 216 monetary awards worth $264,000 in the past sixteen years.  We would like to thank all of our sponsors and donors for their generous and continued support that has allowed us to fulfill our commitment in this regard.”

In addition to the award recipients sharing their stories, the event also featured two keynote speeches. Ms. Helen Cao shared her experiences as a parent of two accomplished children: one of whom chose to pursue a PHD at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) over offers from other schools including Stanford, Harvard and Cambridge; and the other a six- year record holding World Cube Competition Women Champion studying at the Dalhousie University Schulich School of Law. Audiences learned about her role in fostering her children’s success with personal accounts of the relationship she shared with them.

Another keynote speech entitled “Educate, Appreciate, Dominate” was presented by Ms. Marilyn Flanagan where she discussed the importance of education in shaping our values, the role that scholarships play in supporting that education, and, the resultant opportunities. Ms. Flanagan’s career is comprised of many executive roles including former President of Textualis, Senior Vice President of Business Operations at IFDS, Senior Vice President of National Sales and Service for TD Meloche Monnex, and guest lecturer at McGill University Faculty of Management. Audience benefited a lot from her vast management experience and advanced leadership skills.

For more information about the recipients and the ceremony, please visit: .

About CPAC Foundation

The CPAC Foundation is founded in 1999 and is a registered charity that raises funds in support of CPAC’s work within the immigrant community. The CPAC Foundation also has its own education related initiatives.

The Foundation continues to support CPAC in carrying out its mission of helping internationally trained professionals and tradespeople to obtain licenses, find jobs, advance their careers, develop leadership skills, and integrate into Canadian society.

For its own initiatives, the Foundation organizes activities that provide educational information to parents and students. It also provides scholarships and bursaries to secondary and post-secondary students who have demonstrated social responsibility and a determination to pursue academic excellence.

Since 2000, the CPAC Foundation has given out more than 200 scholarships and bursaries with a total value of $246,000. It has also built two schools in poverty and disaster stricken areas in China.


[CPAC Award 2017-01] Group photo of the winners of 2016 CPAC Foundation Awards and Scholarships

From the left: Shi Ting Lu, Elaine Ke-Xin Liu, Yiqiao Chen, Aiken Chau, Echo Wu, Mokai Xu, Kevin Zhang, Emily Cross, SongLing Wang