支持CPAC消除反亚裔种族歧视新举措

亲爱的朋友:

 

今天特此写信,寻求您的支持,协助我们推进一个新的行动计划:争取华人利益,反对歧视亚裔。

 

针对亚裔的种族歧视在加拿大社会是一个经常被忽略的严重问题。其实,自第一批华人移民加拿大以来,反亚裔,尤其是反华裔的种族主义问题一直困扰着我们。一代又一代的华人、一波又一波的移民都曾与之斗争,但成效有限。最近在新冠肺炎疫情期间,反华人种族歧视事件愈演愈烈,更凸显了当前解决这个问题的紧迫性。

 

在今天的加拿大,种族歧视在正常情况下以相对隐蔽的形式存在,比如偏见、成见、微歧视、歧视性政策和常规做法、”玻璃天花板”、缺乏权利阶层代表等。在疫情期间,反华人的种族主义变得更加公开和猖狂。数目堪忧的华人老年者、儿童和各年龄段的人都成为其攻击的目标,受到暴力袭击、骚扰、唾口水、漫骂和欺凌,华人商家和宗教场所遭到破坏,仇恨犯罪和仇恨事件急剧增加,不仅针对华人,而且祸及外表象华人的东亚、东南亚和土著加拿大人。

 

捐款支持

 

对此,CPAC两次致函加拿大总理、安大略省省长、多伦多市市长和所有大多地区的教育局,严肃提出反华以及反亚裔种族主义的问题,并要求政府采取行动。我们的努力得到了积极的回应,并作为一方压力迫使政治领导人公开谴责所有形式的反亚裔种族主义,促成了多伦多市发起的反对反亚裔种族主义运动,同时也推动了大多地区各教育局加强反种族主义的教育。

 

我们还举办了13场应对种族歧视行为的系列讲座,向人们宣传、讲解各种形式的种族主义,并向他们传授如何识别和应对种族主义骚扰和歧视、攻击以及其他形式的种族主义行为。

 

同时,我们也是 “亚裔加拿大人共同消除种族主义”(ACT2endracism)联盟的创始成员之一,该联盟于2020年4月成立,旨在回击疫情以来的各种形式的种族主义行为。作为该联盟的主要成员,我们积极参与并在所有的运动、声明、社区咨询和公共教育活动中发挥了主导作用, 我们还进行了新闻采访和媒体宣传,并分发了带有口号的布制口罩、反种族歧视知识漫画册和书签等。

 

此外,我们还是ACCT基金会发起的2019年首届加拿大华人领袖峰会的组委会成员和专为加拿大华人设计的首个公民领袖培训项目的开发团队的成员。

 

捐款支持

 

我们的使命是通过研究、培训、教育和其他相关活动,消除阻碍加拿大社会公平、多元和共容的各种系统性障碍。

 

虽然我们关注的重点是加拿大华人,我们同时也坚持对任何个人或群体的仇恨都是不能容忍的。我们是所有反种族主义行动的盟友。

 

我们的目标是建立一个公平、多元和共容的加拿大社会 –– 一个每个人都能充分参与并发挥自己全部潜力的、加拿大华人也能在其建设过程中充分发挥自己作用的加拿大。

 

遗憾的是,尽管加拿大已有多项人权立法和就业平等的倡议,但一项又一项的研究表明,有色人种在招聘、职场和升迁等方面仍然遭受歧视。在过去的二十年中,女性的地位和升迁取得了明显的改进,而有色人种在这方面的进展却微乎其微,加拿大华人的遭遇尤其可悲。华裔一方面被藐视为老实听话的 “模范少数族裔”,另一方面却被视为“外人“和”永久性外国人“,在权力阶层或领导职位上始终占有很低的比例,与华人人口的比例大不相称。

 

这种不公平不能再继续下去了!

 

捐款支持

 

为此目的,CPAC已在2020年投入5万加元,专门研究华人在大多伦多地区公有系统、私有系统和慈善系统高层领导职位所占的比例。

 

我们希望以后在种族平等方面做更多和长期的、持续性的工作。

 

我们相信这项使命对我们所有人都至关重要。但这不会是一件容易的事。要做出任何有意义的改变都需要坚持不懈的努力,而且还需要大量的资金维持。

 

因此,我们邀请您加入我们的行列,通过向CPAC基金会捐款来支持我们从事这一使命。

 

我们的目标是筹集10万加元来进行研究、培训和教育,以催化系统性的改变。

 

我们已经迈出了坚实的第一步。您的捐赠将使我们能够将这一重要的工作继续进行下去,为我们自身,也为我们的孩子和后代在加拿大彻底消除种族歧视。

 

您可以通过点击这里用您的信用卡捐款,或以支票方式支付给CPAC Foundation, 4150 Finch Avenue East, Toronto ON M1S 3T9

 

您也可以在公司的员工捐款活动中指定CPAC Foundation作为您的捐助对象,通过Benevity或United Way等机构或平台将款项捐到CPAC基金会。 CPAC基金会的慈善注册号码是86430 6626 RR0001。

 

感谢您参与我们的行动,一起努力使加拿大成为一个对所有人都公平的地方。

 

感恩有您,

 

加拿大中国专业人士协会会长 王体

Support initiative to end anti-Asian racism

Dear Friend,

 

I am writing to seek your support for a new CPAC initiative – advocating for the interests of Chinese Canadians and combating anti-Asian racism, which is often overlooked as a serious issue within Canada in the larger anti-racism discourse.

 

The issue of anti-Asian, and particularly anti-Chinese, racism has afflicted us since the arrival of the first wave of Chinese immigration into Canada. Generations of Chinese and successive waves of Chinese immigrants have struggled against it with limited success. The recent rise of anti-Chinese racism during COVID-19 has highlighted the urgency for us to address this issue now.

 

In addition to the more covert forms of racism seen in normal times, which include individual as well as systemic prejudices, stereotypes, biases, microaggressions, discriminatory policies and practices, “glass ceilings”, underrepresentation in positions of power, and so on, anti-Chinese racism during the COVID-19 pandemic has become overt and more brazen.

 

DONATE

 

A disturbing number of our seniors, children and people of all ages have been targeted and violently attacked, harassed, spat on, yelled at, and bullied. Chinese businesses and places of worship have been vandalized. There is a sharp increase in hate crimes and hate incidents against not only Chinese, but also people who look like Chinese – East and Southeast Asian and Indigenous Canadians.

 

In response, CPAC has written twice to the Prime Minister of Canada, as well as the Premier of Ontario, the Mayor of Toronto and all the GTA school boards, raising the issue of anti-Chinese as well as anti-Asian racism, and demanding government actions. Our efforts have received positive responses and helped pressure political leaders to publicly condemn any form of anti-Asian racism, including the City of Toronto’s launch of a campaign against anti-Asian racism, and our school boards strengthening antiracism education in GTA schools.

 

We have conducted a series of 13 webinars, informing people of the various forms of racism and training them on how to recognize and respond to racial harassment and discrimination, attacks, and other forms of racist behaviours.

 

We are also a founding member of Asian Canadians Together to End Racism (ACT2endracism), a national coalition formed in April 2020 to combat COVID-19 related racism of all forms. As a key member of the coalition, we have played a leading role in all the campaigns, statements, consultations and public education activities. We have provided TV and radio interviews and distributed masks, brochures, and bookmarks.

 

In addition, we were part of the organizing team for the first Chinese Canadian Leaders Summit in 2019 and the development team of the first civic leadership training program for Chinese Canadians by ACCT Foundation.

 

DONATE

 

Our mission is to address systemic barriers to equity, diversity and inclusion in Canadian society through research, training, education and other collaborative activities.  While we focus on Chinese Canadians, we recognize that hate against any persons or groups of people cannot be tolerated. We are an ally to all anti-racism initiatives.

 

Our goal is an equitable, diverse and inclusive Canadian society where everyone can participate fully and realize their full potential, and where Chinese Canadians can assert their role in building such a Canada.

 

In spite of human rights legislation and employment equity initiatives, study after study has shown that racialized persons still suffer from discrimination in hiring practices, in workplaces and in advancing to leadership positions. While measurable advances have been made for the advancement of women, there has been little progress in the advancement of racialized persons over the past two decades. Despite being condescendingly considered “model minorities”, Chinese Canadians in particular continue to be “othered” as perpetual foreigners and suffer from low representation in positions of power or leadership that belies their significant numbers demographically.

 

Such inequities cannot continue.

 

DONATE

 

To that end, we have committed $50,000 in 2020 and started a research study on Chinese Canadian representation in senior leadership positions in the public, private and charitable sectors in the Greater Toronto Area.

 

We want to do more and do it continuously for the long term.

 

We believe this mission is critical to all of us. But it will not be easy. It will take unremitting work to make any meaningful change, and it requires significant financial resources to sustain.

 

Therefore, we ask you to join us and support us on this mission by making a donation to the CPAC Foundation.

 

Our goal is to raise $100,000 to do research, training and education to catalyze systemic changes.

 

We have taken the first step. Your gift will help us carry on with the important work that we have started, to eradicate racism and racial discrimination in Canada, for us, our children, and future generations.

 

Please DONATE with your credit card, or make a cheque payable to CPAC Foundation, 4150 Finch Avenue East, Toronto ON M1S 3T9

 

You can also support this mission through your workplace giving campaigns by designating CPAC Foundation as your donee through Benevity or the United Way.  CPAC Foundation’s Charity Registration Number is 86430 6626 RR0001.

 

Thank you for being a part of our mission to make Canada a more equitable place for all.

 

With gratitude for your support,

 

Ti Wang

President of CPAC